The beginning

Be yourself; Everyone else is already taken.

— Oscar Wilde.

When the #SistaHoodHour Twitter chat first began in 2017, at the time the plan was to cover all the various subjects / topics that were whirling in my mind and I knew that a lot of other women were wondering and talking to each other about as well. Yet over time, the platform has allowed me to profile some incredible women who are doing some amazing things in their respective fields, and they were able to share some valuable life lessons that have propelled them forward.

#SistaHoodHour in many ways has helped me journey through my own life, learn some lessons, grow in areas that need my attention – and it was not always easy, and in some instances, be able to confront some long-held destructive beliefs that I never realised impacted on my view of myself as a person and as a woman. In many ways, #SistaHoodHour introduced me to the Phumeza who was there, waiting to awaken…and I hope that no matter what happens in my life, I will never forget her and will find ways to stay true to her as I transition through my life chapters.

I’m looking forward to sharing here more of the conversations that happen on the Twitter chat, and adding some of my insights too, as well as sharing a bit more about my life and passions. While you’re here, please feel free to introduce yourself, let me know where you’re from and let me know about what your journey has brought into your life and growth as an individual.

xx Phumeza

One thought on “The beginning

Leave a comment